Beach Volleyball: OEC Postseason Awards

Beach Volleyball: OEC Postseason Awards

Irvine Valley's pairs of sophomore Renata Bath and freshman Lea Kruse and sophomores Alyssa Vortouni and Emilie Austin were named the most valuable players of the women's beach volleyball Orange Empire Conference team.

Bath and Kruse and Vortouni and Austin shared the conference title after the final day of the conference pairs championship at Irvine Valley on Apr. 26.

The two teams didn't compete in the final with team regional and then individual regional matches on the schedule next week.

Bath and Kruse defeated the Riverside duo of Vashti Elias-Romero and Natalie Escher, 21-14, 21-13, in one semifinal and Vortouni and Austin upset the Cypress duo of Khamis Berneker and Brittany Zavala, 21-13, 21-13, in the other semifinal.

Elias-Romero and Escher won a marathon third-place match over Berneker and Zavala, 21-15, 10-21, 18-16, to place third.

Elias-Romero and Escher and Berneker and Zavala were all named first team all-conference.

Joining them on the first team were Irvine Valley's pair of freshmen Anna Unke and Gabriela Griego, Santa Ana's duo of Karissa Mumford and Erisa Pooee and the Orange Coast pairs of Camryn Kaina and Shannon Stone and Kacey Mathieson and Bailey Coffin.

Bath, Kruse, Vortouni, Austin, Unke, Griego and the pair of freshmen Alaina Gendale and Kendall Nolan, who were named second team all-conference, all played roles in helping Irvine Valley win the conference's Eastern Division title, go undefeated in OEC action and make the playoffs. All except Nolan were part of IVC's indoor volleyball team that captured a conference title and made a state tournament appearance last fall.

Cypress and Orange Coast shared the Western Division championship in the conference.

Full all-conference teams are listed below.


Women's Beach Volleyball All-Orange Empire Conference


2019 OEC Champions: Cypress & Orange Coast (Western Division - co-champs) and Irvine Valley (Eastern Division)

2019 OEC MVPs: Renata Bath/Lea Kruse and Alyssa Vortouni/Emilie Austin, Irvine Valley College

2019 OEC Coach of the Year: none                                                                          


1st Team All-OEC                                                                                            

Renata Bath/Lea Kruse Irvine Valley                        

Alyssa Vortouni/Emilie Austin, Irvine Valley         

Vashti Elias-Romero/Natalie Escher, Riverside    

Khamis Berneker/Brittany Zavala, Cypress                           

Anna Unke/Gabriela Griego, Irvine Valley                             

Karissa Mumford/Erisa Pooee, Santa Ana                             

Camryn Kaina/Shannon Stone, Orange Coast      

Kacey Mathieson/Bailey Coffin, Orange Coast    


2nd Team All-OEC

Alaina Gendale/Kendall Nolan, Irvine Valley

Ayla Fresenius/Nickie Hughes, Saddleback

Kayla Owens/Alisha Ormand, Cypress

Lauren Schaefer/Amanda Henderson, Fullerton

Jane Woodward/Danielle Gomez, Cypress

Nikol Powers/Holly Hennessy, Golden West

Kiki Pearson/Mia Lara, Golden West

Hannah Reid/Lu Lualdi, Orange Coast