Saddleback Takes Top Honors in Men's Basketball All-OEC

Saddleback Takes Top Honors in Men's Basketball All-OEC

Unlike last season, when Saddleback College swept the board with their starting five taking First Team honors, the 2015-16 season proved to be a competitive one with Cypress and Fullerton Colleges making their mark. The Gauchos had three players make First Team, Fullerton had four, and Cypress two.

The number one team in the state, Saddleback, went undefeated in the OEC with an impressive 12-0 OEC record and ended the regular season with only one blemish on their overall record (27-1). They will lead the charge in the upcoming Southern California Regionals Playoffs with Fullerton (21-7) and Cypress (22-6) representing the OEC as well.

Freshman point guard Timothy "TJ" Shorts was chosen as the Orange Empire Conference "Player of the Year" leading the Gauchos to their fifth consecutive OEC title. Playing in 28 games this season, Shorts averaged 12.9 points a game, had 96 assists, and stole the ball 42 times. He led the conference in free throws made hitting 120 out of 149 (80.5%).

Saddleback Head Coach Andy Ground was selected as the conference Coach of the Year after producing another stellar team to win the OEC title.

The complete All-Conference list is below.


2015-16 All-Orange Empire Conference Team

Most Valuable Player: Timothy Shorts, 5-9 Freshman, Saddleback
Coach of the Year: Andy Ground, Saddleback


First Team

Breaon Brady, 6-8 Freshman, Saddleback

Jalen Hall, 6-0, Sophomore, Saddleback

Lyle Hexom, 6-8, Sophomore, Saddleback

Jordan Fleck, 6-4, Sophomore, Cypress

Jeremy Wright, 6-0, Sophomore, Cypress

Kenny Barnes, 6-4, Freshman, Fullerton

Julian Richardson, 6-4, Sophomore, Fullerton

Ian Fox, 6-0, Freshman, Fullerton

Blake McBride, 6-5, Sophomore, Fullerton

Jamaal Lee, 6-4, Sophomore, Orange Coast


Second Team

Brandon Fagins, 6-9, Sophomore, Saddleback

Maurice Jones, 6-4, Sophomore, Saddleback

Devonte Klines, 6-0, Freshman, Saddleback

Nolan Kelly, 6-5, Sophomore, Cypress

Austin Payne, 6-3, Sophomore, Cypress

Andy Cleaves 6-2 Freshman Riverside

Tramel Wilson, 6-3, Freshman, Riverside

Chris Lott, 6-0, Freshman, Irvine Valley

Noah Wellington, 6-3, Sophomore, Santa Ana