Women's Soccer: Santiago Canyon loads up on postseason hardware

Women's Soccer: Santiago Canyon loads up on postseason hardware

All-OEC Women's Soccer Teams

The Santiago Canyon College women's soccer team captured the California Community College Athletic Association state title on Sunday with a 1-0 win over Lake Tahoe College in Ventura. The Hawks also had 10 representatives on the All-Orange Empire Conference roster earlier in the week. 

Santiago Canyon won its 15th straight OEC title in 2018 and went on to win their third state title this past weekend. With success comes individual recognition, and the Hawks dominated the ballots of the 2018 All-OEC Team. 

Santiago Canyon captured both the Most Valuable Player and Coach-of-the-Year honors with Angelica Ortega and Ian Woodhead, respectively. They also had four other players named to the All-OEC First Team and four more to the All-OEC Second Team. 

Ortega finished the season with 18 goals and 16 assists, which ranked No. 15 in the state.  She scored a point in all but five games this season, recording a season-high mark of three against Cypress College on October 19.  

Woodhead guided the Hawks to a perfect 24-0 finish in 2018. It's the third state title for Santiago Canyon since the program started in 2000 and the first since 2009.  Santiago Canyon has now 15 straight Orange Empire Conference titles dating back to 2004. 

Joining Ortega on the first team were Ofelia Sosa, Haley McDevitt, Sukanya Sukpham and Sophie Saouma. In addition to being named first team all-conference, McDevitt also earned the Most Valuable Player of the state tournament this past weekend after scoring two goals in two games, including the game-winner in the state title game.

Second team selection for the Hawks included Lauren Bethencourt, Victoria Phillips, Jessica Neighbors and Emily Larsen. 

Santiago Canyon was followed by Golden West College and Fullerton College, who both had six players named to the all-conference squad. Cypress College, Saddleback College, Orange Coast College and Santa Ana College each had four players selected while Irvine Valley College and Norco College had two apiece. 

Stay connected with the Orange Empire Conference through social media. Follow the OEC on Twitter @SportsOEC. Check in with the Orange Empire on Facebook/SportsOEC.