Lasers' Ramseyer & Aguilar Named Conference Co-MVP's

Lasers' Ramseyer & Aguilar Named Conference Co-MVP's

After helping Irvine Valley go undefeated and win the Orange Empire Conference title, sophomore setter Megan Ramseyer and sophomore outside hitter Olivia Aguilar were named co-Most Valuable Players when the OEC women's volleyball awards were announced last week.

Irvine Valley also saw Tom Pestolesi picked as the coach of the year for the conference.

The Lasers completed a perfect regular season at 22-0 with a win last Wednesday at Orange Coast. It was the fourth perfect regular-season campaign in IVC history. 
Irvine Valley also finished at 16-0 in conference action. 

Aguilar led the conference and ranked fourth in the state at 4.61 kills per set. She was also third in the conference and 15th in the state in hitting percentage at .358. She had double digit kills in all 16 conference matches. She recorded 20 kills in a five-set win over Saddleback and also had 20 in three-set win at Santa Ana. Ramseyer ranked first in the state in assists at 11.25 per set. She had a season-best 53 assists in IVC's four-set win at Orange Coast to finish off the regular season. In all, Irvine Valley had six players selected to teams. Sophomore outside hitter Taira Ka'awaloa and sophomore libero Gabi Lau were each selected to the first team and sophomore opposite Diamond Brogan and freshman middle blocker Alma Entesari were chosen to the second team. Ka'awaloa was second in the conference in kills per set at 3.99 and Lau led the Lasers and was 13th in the conference in digs per set at 2.96.

Cypress, which finished second in the conference standings, had four selections. Sophomore middle blocker Brianna Johnson and freshman setter Penina Wilder were each named to the first team. Johnson was third in the conference in kills per set at 3.70 and led the conference in overall kills. Wilder was second in the conference in assists per set at 9.27.

Saddleback, which finished a close third in the standings, also had four selections. The Gauchos were paced by sophomore setter Antonette Rolda and sophomore libero Kelli Dowell, who were each named to the first team.

Other first-team selections included Golden West sophomore middle blocker Ashleigh Atsaros, Orange Coast sophomore setter Devyn Holland, Riverside freshman libero Natalie Escher, Fullerton sophomore middle blocker Kaylyn Johnson, Santa Ana sophomore outside hitter Mikelle Taylor and Santiago Canyon sophomore setter Jessica Rezner.

The full All-Orange Empire Conference Women's Volleyball Teams are listed below.

All-Orange Empire Conference - 2017

Co-Most Valuable Players - Megan Ramseyer, Irvine Valley; Olivia Aguilar, Irvine Valley
Coach of the Year - Tom Pestolesi, Irvine Valley

First Team
Taira Ka'awaloa, Irvine Valley
Gabi Lau, Irvine Valley
Briana Johnson, Cypress
Penina Wilder, Cypress
Antonette Rolda, Saddleback
Kelli Dowell, Saddleback
Ashleigh Atsaros, Golden West
Devyn Holland, Orange Coast
Natalie Escher, Riverside
Kaylyn Johnson, Fullerton
Mikelle Taylor, Santa Ana
Jessica Rezner, Santiago Canyon

Second Team
Diamond Brogan, Irvine Valley
Alma Entesari, Irvine Valley
Kayla Owens, Cypress
Khamis Berneker, Cypress
Kendall Nolan, Saddleback
Avie Butsko, Saddleback
Erica Cantley, Golden West
Rylee Adair, Orange Coast
Marcella Rodriguez, Riverside
Kailyn Case, Fullerton
Kassandra Murillo, Santa Ana
Riley Hausner, Santiago Canyon

Stay connected with the Orange Empire Conference through social media. Follow the OEC on Twitter @SportsOEC. Check in with the Orange Empire